How I handle Stress…arrgh

S.T.R.E.S.S is…..ummm… stressful. The next two weeks are going to be a stress adventure.

I graduate on Saturday, I still haven’t packed anything in my dorm and on top of that I do not have insurance. I have had insurance my entire life, but it was removed when I turned 21. SO, I have spent the last 3 days trying to find low-cost alternatives for the un-insured. That was not fun. It took me A LOT of digging to find these amazing programs and I am so glad I took the time to find them.

On top of this, the Peace Corps is pressuring me to turn in my Health packet ASAP or I will be discontinued from the Application process! AHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Now I have to find money out of nowhere to pay for all of my upcoming appointments AND I found out I will be leaving before OCTOBER.

On an unrelated note: I have a splinter in my thumb (:

Its ok Mani..It’s going to be ok.

SOOOOO, I’m going to go through MY stress relaxing process:

  1. STOP
Don’t let the stress get to you. If it becomes overwhelming, TAKE A BREAK. Take your time.

Breathe…In and out. I know we’ve all heard this from everywhere, but it really works. I found a quiet place and I just relaxed and listened to my own breathing. I know it sounds cheesy but it removed a huge chunk of stress from me. Listening to myself breathing brings me to my next tip.

2.  BE GRATEFUL

Be grateful for how far you’ve come and appreciate the fact that you are breathing. If what you are stressing over is that bad, take a moment to think about all of the good things in your life. I thought of my family and how I am glad that I have a source of happiness. I am grateful that I’ll always have somewhere to go if things don’t work out. I’m grateful for my health and I’m grateful for my life. Take a moment out everyday to reflect on your life.

I’m Thankful I have something to stress over.

3. GET MOTIVATED

I can’t do anything unless there is something positive driving me. Life is a challenge: accept it. I wouldn’t be anywhere if I lived my life through fear, not would I be going anywhere. Be your own mascot.

4. ENCOURAGE YOURSELF and OTHERS

On my last day of my English Major Seminar, my professor offered a gift I had not anticipated: a speech. He spoke of the power of encouragement and offered words of wisdom for us. Towards the end he talked about how an endless cycle of encouragement can lead people to be the best that they can be.

5. EXERCISE

Just get moving. DO anything. I’ve been walking like crazy and I’ve never felt so relaxed. Here are some of the odd (well, odd for me) exercises I’ve been doing:

  • Running with my Toy dog
  • Throwing pebbles across a creek
  • Going on a swing
  • Jazz Dance (I am the ONLY person under 30 in that class)
  • Zumba (AMAZING)
  • Golf
I think I’m going to take up Kayaking, I found an awesome class that is pretty cheap in Virginia (:
MAKE IT A GREAT DAY,
Mani (:
P.S. Don’t forget to laugh!
Leave a Reply

